Our Mission

Advance inclusive sustainable development anchored in manufacturing.

Our Core Belief

The current system is failing our communities and we require system-oriented solutions. A "high road," inclusive manufacturing ecosystem is fundamental to advancing systemic solutions that are transformative for individuals, families and our communities.

Our Vision

Where Manufacturing Renaissance has influence and impact, communities experience a tangible expansion and visible expression of racially equitable practices, and the economic and social inclusion of traditionally marginalized populations in local wealth creation and sustainable development.

Our Core Goals

  • Leverage MR’s experience developing and implementing manufacturing-related programming and coalition building to inform and build awareness among leaders and decision makers towards prioritizing the scaling of policies and programs that advance inclusive sustainable, development.  
  • Expose, inspire and prepare young people from Black, Latinx and other people of color, marginalized and low-income communities for securing and retaining career-track jobs in manufacturing.

Our Guiding Principles

  • As thought leaders and practitioners, we are guided by MR’s Theory of Change (as described in Towards a New Paradigm of Development, 2021) and The Development Model of Organizing (as described in paper of same name, 1996) in our approach to developing and implementing MR’s program areas work.  
  • We recognize there are “High Road” and “Low Road” elements in every segment of society, we seek to build collaborations with High Road actors to advance our strategic goals.  
  • We are entrepreneurial, comfortable operating in the marketplace and taking risks to advance new ideas.  
  • We recognize there are times we must collaborate and times we must disrupt. 
  • We seek active consultation from stakeholders, appreciate different points of views, encourage a debate of ideas, but we are also comfortable making executive decisions.  
  • We are committed to practicing anti-racism and believe all peoples have the right to inclusion, opportunity, and equitable treatment without discrimination or harassment on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, disability, marital status, citizenship or national origin. 

Our Team

Committed-Talented-Fearless

Erica Swinney Staley

Executive Director

estaley@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 20

Bio

Dan Swinney

Founder and Senior Advisor

dswinney@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 x14

Bio

David Robinson

External Affairs Director

drobinson@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 19

Bio

 
 

Veronica Buenrostro

Director of Financial Management

vbuenrostro@mfgren.org
(773) 278 5418 ext 25

Bio

Joyce Weston

Program Director, Career Pathway Services

jweston@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 21

Bio

Leslye Long

Asst. Program Director

llong@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 30

Bio

Brence Turner

Senior Machining Instructor

bturner@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 30

Bio

DeeDee Jones

Industry Coordinator

djones@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 33

Bio

 
 

Mieka Matthews

Program Coordinator

mmatthews@mfgren.org
(773) 278-5418 ext 32

Bio

Board of directors

Dedicated-Influential-Leadership

Edward Hamburg

Chairman

Bio

Doug Gamble

Secretary

Bio

Victor Dickson

Bio

John Scheflow

Bio

Peter Cunningham

Bio

Carmen Curet

Bio

Garrick Davis

Bio

Montez King

Bio

Dan Swinney

Bio